Devastating Week…

Standard

image

First off, I want to start off by saying how sorry I am for the lack of posts. I chose this picture because it best describes what has happened this past week. I know you’ve heard me talking about how sick my father in law was from cancer. He lost his battle last Saturday on February, 25th. His suffering was like no other. Then the Lord came, and carried him home. We had funeral services Wednesday. He was in the U.S. Army so they had a beautiful burial service for him, where he was honored with great respect. The American flag was covered beautifully over his casket, then folded and given back to my mother in law. They had a 21 gun salute to him. You place 3 of the empty shells inside the American flag after it’s been folded. That’s part of their tradition and that honors the fallen soldier. They lowered the flag at half staff. He has a beautiful burial site where other outstanding soldiers lie in peace. He truly will be missed by many.

image

Before the service, we were out shopping for clothes for the service (Sunday night) and someone had smiled at me. I smiled back but it felt kind of funny, like I was smiling crooked. When I got home I noticed I couldn’t smile on my right side! Like literally, I can’t even raise my lip up. The next day, when I woke up my right eyebrow was drooping really bad. I couldn’t blink my eye at all on the right side. My whole face wouldn’t move, it was paralyzed. During the funeral services, everyone kept telling me they thought I might have had a stroke I need to get it checked out. It was really scaring me because my grandma (mom’s side) died from a stroke. Then I had some of them telling me it was “Bell’s Palsy” which sounded familiar but I didn’t really know anything about it.

I made an appointment to see my doctor right after the funeral. Could you imagine how tired and exhausting? I wasn’t getting any sleep because my eye wasn’t shutting all the way, so it was like I was half asleep, half awake all night. I finally arrived at the doctors where a couple of nurses were really concerned. I really freaked them out with me telling them I thought it could be a stroke. Their around the same age as me, so I know they felt really bad for me. Anyway, the doctor finally came in and I was talking to him. He just kept looking at me, and stops me mid conversation and tells me to look straight at him. He did a few small tests and told me he really thinks it’s, “Bell’s Palsy” and not a stroke. He still ordered a CT scan to be on the safe side. I’m still waiting for the hospital to call me to see whether or not my insurance will pay for it. I’m giving them a couple of more days and then I’m calling their butts!

Basically, the doctor said Bell’s Palsy is the 7th cranial nerve that is injured. They don’t really know what causes Bell’s Palsy, but they think it’s some type of virus that basically attacks these nerves in your facial area (7th cranial nerve).  This leaves me to where I can’t wrinkle my forehead, loss of hearing in the right ear, can’t eat or drink that well, smile is partial, no blinking for my right eye, pain in my neck and under my chin on  the right side. I have to use “Artificial Tears” all day long because my eye dries up not being able to blink, I have to use a straw to drink or I’ll have it all down my clothes, I have to wear an eye patch on the right side (which is definitely aggravating & I just try to avoid that altogether), I wear a sleeping mask to bed since my eye doesn’t shut all the way. I wear my sunglasses most of the time even when I’m on the computer because my eyes hurt so bad with the light. I have a really bad slur when I talk because my lips aren’t moving on the right side. I can barely blow out a candle. Another thing is the sweating that comes with this. I really do feel like I have “Bell’s Palsy” because I have like every symptom. My left side of my face that works fine just gets so exhausted. I get so tired so easy now. I just can’t believe all the stuff I took for granted…like blinking my eyes!  I can’t really sit down and watch a movie or even an hour show. My eye is just so blurry, and hurts that it’s not even worth it! I wake up frustrated but that’s the best time of the day for me. It gets a lot worse as the day goes on. It’s just really hard to describe to someone how this makes you feel. FRUSTRATION is the biggest part! I really wish they would get everything figured out and tell me what I’m suppose to do. What exercises I should start doing. I know this is my most crucial time, and I’m not suppose to really do anything but rest. My muscles heal 2mm a day! The least time for my face to get back to normal is 3 months, but could take as long as 18 months!!!!! Please say a prayer for me and that everything gets back to normal soon. I believe in prayer, and I know God can work any miracle!!! Prayer is the best medicine I can receive.

image

The nerve that is injured with Bell’s Palsy is CN-VII (7th cranial nerve). It originates in an area of the brain stem known as the Pons. The 7th nerve passes through the stylomastoid foramen and enters the parotid gland. It divides into its main branches inside the parotid gland. These branches then further divide into 7000 smaller nerve fibers that reach into the face, neck, salivary glands and the outer ear. The nerve controls the muscles of the neck, the forehead and facial expressions, as well as perceived sound volume. It also stimulates secretions of the lower jaw, the tear glands and the salivary glands in the front of the mouth. Taste sensations at the front 2/3 of the tongue and sensations at the outer ear are transmitted by the 7th nerve.

 

Okay, I know you’ve seen where Tornadoes hit Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee & a lot of the Mid-West states this Friday, March 2nd. Well here goes…

We kept getting Tornado Warnings on all the news stations, broadcasted over the television, and on the weather radio. We went to my mother in laws to take shelter since we live in a mobile home. My brother in law, sister in law, and two nieces met us there. We put all the children in the bathtub with the mattress right outside the door. It was a scary time because we kept getting text messages from The Weather Channel saying, “Tornado Warning” for our area. Our cable, phone, and internet went out. We still had our weather radios and cell phones. The electric was flickering on and off like it was going to go out. The kids were really upset at this time, and they were scared they were going to blow away. We told them that all of us adults were going to be on top of them protecting them. A guy that worked with the city, stopped by and told us there’s a shelter for us to go to if we wanted to. By this time the storm was already moving in, I mean about 2 minutes later because we were going to go. After what seemed like 3 hours finally we could turn the radios off, and find out exactly what happened. We didn’t find out what happened until the next day when our cable, and internet started working.

Our house which is about 5 minutes away from our neighboring county got hit with a Tornado. It was awful, something we’ve never seen before. All the lights were out (including our electric in our mobile home). They had all these main roads blocked and you weren’t allowed in unless you had an I.D. saying you lived there. There was 4 people who lost their lives here in this area, and a whole horse stable wiped out that killed 20+ horses.

It truly is an awful tragedy and my heart felt prayers go out to each and everyone of them. Anyone who was affected by these tornadoes, and ones before this. I send all my prayers to you. We donated some money yesterday to “American Red Cross” because I know their helping all the victims. They said that they had already fed 6,000 people yesterday which is awesome! If I can help in someway,  somehow, I sure will try. The Governor of KY came out to excess the damage on Saturday, and while he was in a video conference, Obama phoned him sending his thoughts and prayers to us Kentuckianas. He said he will do anything that needs to be done to get us back on our feet again. Altogether, there were 17 killed in Kentucky alone. I know Indiana and Ohio was hit worse than us, and it actually wiped out a few of their towns.

Here are a few pictures of the aftermath this Tornado caused in our town.

                       imageimage                          imageimage 

                 imageimage

                   imageimage

Just heartbreaking pictures it really is. The fourth picture of the woman standing in her destroyed house is someone I’ve known all my life. I just found out her house was hit whenever I was finding pictures for this post. It’s going to be hard, and many will never live in their homes again because of it being destroyed, and not building back. This whole subdivision was pretty much wiped out. This is where we take most of our children trick r treating every year. I’ve took rugrat trick r treating every year here!! Sad smile It’s sad because their such great people, and in this town. All this town and others affected by these Tornadoes can do is take it one day at a time. We’re a small community, but this small community will pull together and help each other get back on our feet.

I need to go through my rugrat’s outgrown clothes, and other items to find stuff to donate.

If anyone would like to donate any things they’ve maybe collected from their stockpiles, like toiletries, first aid supplies, personal care products, cleaning supplies, non-perishable food, and blankets, and such would be so kindly appreciated by our community! Of course, cash, checks, & other forms of payment is always appreciated as well. You can go to the American Red Cross link below to find out more about that .

Send Donations:

Crittenden Baptist Church
215 Russell Rd.
Crittenden Kentucky 41030

 

You could maybe write a little note on the side ATTN: Tornado Donations or somewhere along the lines of that. You can find out more by going here American Red Cross

Alright, well I guess I’ve explained this devastating week the best I could. It’s definitely a lot to handle in one week. This is usually what happens in my life though. A lot of devastation in one week, but I don’t ever think it’s been this bad! I hope you guys are doing good! I miss my readers, and posting great deals for you. I promise I will be up, and running again in no time! I hope you’ve learned in this post that sometimes we take life for granted, and don’t even realize it. It makes me look at life in a whole different perspective. This is what I’m going to leave you with today. Whenever you feel like life is throwing you a curve ball, and when something might not being going your way. Just stop, and think for one second—someone else is having a way worse day than you’re. Love you guys! God Bless!

About Mommy's Little Rugrat Princess

What can I say I love my family!! I love God who's been great to me throughout the years and helped me get pass the rocky road I was headed down. He's blessed my family and I in so many ways that words can't even describe. I thank God for everything in my life especially blessing me with such a wonderful family. I love deals, freebies, samples, coupons, sweepstakes, contests, instant win games, products, reviews,and of course my favorite GIVEAWAYS !!! I love learning about new products that will probably never reach my hometown. This is why I love giveaways so much, by winning something that no one has ever heard of or ever seen here in this little town. I love sharing with them all about the product and what it does. Then their always wondering where they can get their own!! :) I love dealing with companies and learning about how they started. I think it's very interesting learning about their background and where they came from. What can I say I'm a simple girl from a small town who loves the 21st century! I've only been doing this since January, 2011 and have saved my family a lot whether it may be food, toys, clothes, hygiene products, household items, or just going out for a family outing. I found this is my passion and I love doing what I do. I love writing and hope this will be an awesome blog for you!! Well, that's all about me for now! ;)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

